In A Mask

With Fear and shame
I hide In a Mask
Sometimes with boldness
But the pain is unbearable
Labelled
A coloured person
A barren woman
A man with no education
Infected one
Homeless man
Unmarried lady
Immigrant 
Middle class worker
A rape victim
All kinds of names
Yet I still hide under the mask
Perhaps with boldness.

I carry myself
With dignity
Disclosing my identify
Hoping they will not reveal
My true status
Maybe if they know
What I am going through
They will mock
Laugh,
Discriminate me.

In a mask
I have found a comfort zone
But a battle keeps erupting
Between the  ears
As my true persona
Identify
Self
Image
Status
Race
Education
Health
Wealth
Wants to be revealed
I can’t keep on hiding
Who I am
What I am going through
Why I am in this state
What I do.

How I wish
You
Could try understand
My pain
My fear
Okay maybe
I made a mistake
I deserve it.
But, what if
It was fate
Maybe forced on me
I had no choice.

In the Mask
I don’t live in peace
Just hear me out
Accept me
Flaws and all
I need your help.
 

Written by Kudzai Pasirayi
Upcoming Book
Glory
Location : Middlesbrough

Leave a Reply

